Do you know about hair growth cycle? Most of the women have desire for long hair but do you know how they grow? Hair growth is an ongoing cycle that ensues all day long, whether we notice it or not. Hair can grow anywhere from 0.3 mm to 0.4 mm each day which equivalents about six inches each year and all hair is finished up of the same structure that matures over exact phases. Thus, today in this article we are discussing about the phases of hair growth cycle.

Image Source: shutterstock

Before telling you about the phases, you have to know the hair structure. Hair rises from the follicle, or root, beneath the skin. The hair is ‘fed’ by blood vessels at the base of the hair follicle, which offer it the nourishment it wants to grow. All hair is ready from keratin which is a protein. Amino acids similarly help to keep the hair strong as well as healthy. Hair is made up of two parts:

• Hair Follicle: The hair that grows beneath the skin is the follicle.

• Hair Shaft: The hair beyond the skin is the shaft.

See More: Wax Body Hair

Phases Of Hair Growth Cycle:

All individual hair will go through the hair growth cycle, but that does not mean that all hair rises at a similar speed or level. Between beginning to grow and falling out years later, every hair passes over four stages.

There Are Four Stages Of the Hair Growth Cycle And They Are As Follows:

  • Growing phase (Anagen)
  • The transitional phase (Catagen)
  • Resting phase (Telogen).
  • New Hair Phase (Exogen)

In strong hair, there is a normal balance among rising anagen hair and shedding telogen hair. If the growing cycle is disrupted, many hairs arrive in the telogen phase too soon and the ratio moves so that additional hairs fall out than can develop back. The phases are as follows;

See More: Is Monistat Good For Hair Growth

1. Anagen (Growing Phase):

The growing phase takes two to seven years and regulates the length of our hair. Anagen is the active phase of the hair. The cells in the root of the hair are separating quickly. A new hair is made and pushes the club hair up the follicle and eventually out. During this phase the hair grows about 1 cm every 28 days. The hair on the arms, legs, eyelashes, and eyebrows have a very short active growth phase of about 30 to 45 days, explaining why they are so much shorter than scalp hair.

2. Catagen (Transition Phase):

This is the transitional stage that lasts about ten days. The hair follicle contracts and removes from the dermal papilla. The catagen phase is a transitional stage and around 3% of all hairs are in this phase at any time. Growth stops and the outer root sheath shrink and attaches to the root of the hair. The hair separates from the hair root and travels up in the scalp. This is the development of what is identified as club hair.

3. Telogen (Resting Phase):

This is the relaxing phase which lasts about three months and for hairs on the scalp and lengthier for hairs on the eyebrow, eyelash, arm, and leg. About 10-15 percent of hairs are in this phase. Whereas the old hair is resting, a new hair instigates the development phase. Dragging out a hair in this phase will expose a solid, dry, hard, white material at the root. About 25 to 100 telogen hairs are shed usually every day.

See More: How Much Biotin For Hair Growth

4. Exogen (New Hair Phase):

This is a portion of the resting phase where the old hair sheds and fresh hair endures to develop. About 50 to 150 hairs can fall out daily; this is measured to be usual hair cracking.

So, these are all the phases of a hair growth cycle and I hope you find this article very effective as well as informative!


About Suvarna

Suvarna is a freelance content writer with over 8 years of professional writing experience. She specialized in developing research-based content on Beauty, Skin, and Hair Care. Suvarna believes that beauty is one of the key factors for every personality. She always strives to bring more authenticity and credibility to her articles.