Under an expert trainer, this form of yoga can be done by people with variable ages and degrees of ability. Sivananda yoga training involves frequent relaxation, and emphasizes on yogic breathing. Below, is a brief description of sivananda yoga session:

I don’t intend to replace any kind of expert opinion. You should always practice under a well trained instructor. Given that let’s have a look at what basically, sivananda yoga is all about. Sivananda yoga is a simpler form of yoga that was established in the 1960 s. In this form of yoga the focus is on preserving the health and wellness of the practitioner.

Sivananda Yoga Asanas Emphases on 5 Major Aspects:

1. proper breathing (pranayama): pranayama refers to deep breathing techniques.
2.  Exercise (asana): asana is a form of exercise in classical yoga. Yoga Asana should be steady and firm yet comfortable and relaxed. It helps the practitioner become aware of their body, mind, and environment.
3.  Relaxation (savasana)
4. diet (vegetarian)
5.  Positive thinking and meditation (Vedanta and dhyana).

A Typical Session of Sivananda Yoga Goes Like This:

1. Savasana or Corpse Poses:

This is practiced before, in between and after other asana. To do this one has to lie down straight and try to keep their mind still. Lie flat on the back. Spread your arms and rest them

along the sides of the body, palms facing upwards. Then legs are extended. Relax your entire body. You may make slight adjustments in this pose to feel more at ease. Now close your eyes and focus on a spot between your eyebrows that is also called the sun centre and try to still your mind. You may stay in this pose for 5 to 15 minutes.

Savasana is then followed by simple yogic breathing techniques like kapalabhati and anuloma viloma.

[Read: Exploring the Essence of Ananda Yoga]

2. What is Kapalbhati?

“kapal” means forehead and “bhati” means shining Kapalabhati is a breathing technique used specifically for cleansing of airways. It helps in clearing out mucus and congestion from respiratory channels. It helps in improving muscle tone, helps in relaxation and even weight loss. This is basically vigorous abdominal breathing. The inhalation is normal and exhalation is forceful. With each exhalation the abdominal muscles are to be contracted.

It involves sitting cross-legged on the yoga mat while maintaining a straight back and neck and chin up posture. Then, place your hands on your knees. Your abdomen muscles should be completely relaxed. The breathing in part is done normally and breathing out part is forceful. With each exhalation, the abdominal muscles are to be contracted. Practicing this breathing style for 30 times should be enough for a beginner.

This exercise is not to be done if you are on a period, suffering from high blood pressure or any other heart disease.

[Read: Why Satyananda Yoga Benefits Your Physical and Mental Health]

3. What is Anuloma Viloma?

This breathing technique is also known as alternate nostril breathing.

This exercise involves, sitting comfortably with cross-legs. Then, close your eyes and keeping your muscles relaxed. Now, the right nostril is to be pressed with the thumb of your right hand and a deep breath is to be taken through the left nostril. Retain this for 5 seconds. Then, release the right nostril and force out the inhaled air from that. Repeat process with alternate nostrils. Repeat this cycle for 10-15 rounds.

This exercise should not be practiced if you are pregnant or having periods.

4. Surya Namaskara:

Surya namaskar, or sun salutations is best done facing the sun during sun rise or early morning hours. It helps us soak in sun rays and get our daily punch of vitamin d. This asana when done regularly, leads to improved posture, stretches muscles and helps in losing unwanted flab. It helps in relieving anxiety.

[Read: Everything You Should Know About Bikram Yoga]

After These Four Steps, There Comes in a Standard Program of The 12 Basic Asana:

1. Headstand (Sirsasana)
2. Shoulder stand (Sarvangasana)
3. Plough (Halasana)
4. Fish (Matsyasana)
5. Sitting forward bend (Paschimottanasana)
6. Cobra (Bhujangasana)
7. Locust (Shalabhasana)
8. Bow (Dhanurasana)
9. Spinal twist (Ardha Matsyendrasana)
10. Crow (Bakasana) or peacock (Mayurasana)
11. Standing forward bend (Padahastasana)
12. Triangle (Trikonasana)

An average session of sivananda yoga lasts for 90 minutes.

Image Source: Shutter stock


About Saanvi

Saanvi Sharma is an excellent web content writer in health and nutrition. Her expertise in the subject stems from in-depth research and knowledge that she gained over the years. Her interest in science coupled with a bachelor's degree in biotechnology proves as an added advantage and further adds value to her writing. She is highly interested in science, thus writing quality content became her virtue.