Top 9 Temples In Andhra Pradesh

By  | 

Andhra Pradesh, a southern state of India is home to many beautiful Dravidian architectural styled temples. Let’s take a peek at top 9 temples of the state.

1. Veerabhadra Temple At Lepakshi:

temples in andhra pradesh

This Vijayanagara style temple built in the 16th century is situated in Lepakshi in Anantapur district of Andhra Pradesh. The fresco paintings in bright dresses and colours depict the stories of Rama and Krishna from Ramayana, Mahabharata and the Puranas. The temple has a large Nandi or bull, mount of Shiva of about 200 metres away from the temple. The temple is built on a hillock of granite rock which is in the shape of a tortoise.

2. Sri Venkateswara Swamy Temple At Tirupati:


In terms of donations received and wealth, it is the richest temple in the world along with being the most-visited place of worship. The temple is situated in a hill town called Tirumala at Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh and is dedicated to Lord Venkateswara, an incarnation of Vishnu. The temple is referred as “the temple of seven hills” and is constructed in Dravidian architecture. During the annual Brahmotsavam, around 500,000 pilgrims visit the place.

3. Mallikarjuna Swamy Temple In Srisailam:

Temples in Andhra Pradesh 3

Mallikarjuna Swamy temple is situated on a flat top of Nallamalai hills in Srisailam. The shrine of Lord Mallikarjuna is present there. It’s a popular centre of Saivite pilgrimage for centuries. The deity of Lord Mallikarjuna Swamy is one of the twelve Jyothirlingas and the one of Goddess Brahmarambha Devi is one of the eighteen Mahashaktis.

4. Lord Malleshwara Temple In Vijayawada:

Temples in Andhra Pradesh 4

Lord Malleshwara temple in Vijayawada has a Shiva linga as the presiding deity of the temple. The sculptures of Bramhrambika engraved on the walls of temples portray various incidents of Mahabharata. The temple was built around 10th century by a Chalukyan ruler. Naturally, Shiva Ratri is widely celebrated here.

5. Kanaka Durga Temple In Vijayawada:

Temples in Andhra Pradesh 5

Kanaka Durga temple in Vijayawada is located on the Indrakeeladri hills on the banks of river Krishna. The deity here is describes as Swayambhu or self-manifested in Triteeya kalpa. Durga puja or Navaratri is widely celebrated here and many devotees from all around visit the temple to offer their prayers. Apart from that, Saraswati puja and Theppotsavam are also celebrated.

See More:  Himachal Pradesh Temples

6. Kurma Temple In Srikakulam:

Temples in Andhra Pradesh 6

Kurma temple is the only temple dedicated to Kurma, the tortoise form of Lord Vishnu. It is located in Srikakulam and the present temple is about 700 years old. Originally it was built in 200 AD. The temple also has the idols of Lord Rama, Laxman and Devi Sita along with Govindadeva and his sakhis. The presiding deity Kurmadeva faces the opposite direction of the shore of Swatha Puskarini Lake.

7. Jaganmohini Kesava Swamy Temple In Ryali:

Temples in Andhra Pradesh 7

Jaganmohini Kesava Swamy temple located in Ryali, East Godavari district was built around 11th century. The temple has a shrine of Sri Jaganmohini Keshava Swamy carved out of a single stone. The idol presiding here looks like Lord Vishnu from the front and Goddess Mohini from the rear side. The uniqueness of the temple lies in the fact that the sacred River Ganga flows from the feet of Lord Vishnu. Thus, it is the origin of Akasa Ganga.

See More:  Tamilnadu Temples List

8. Vinayaka Temple In Kanipakam:


Shri Varasidhi Swamy temple or Kanipakam Vinayaka temple is dedicated to Lord Ganesha and is located in Kanipakam, Chittoor area. It was constructed in 11th century by Kulothunga Chola I, a king of Chola dynasty. The idol present in the temple is swayambhu idol of Kanipakam town as the up-holder of truth. Vinayaka Chavithi and annual Brahmotsavam is the most widely celebrated festivals in the temple.

9. Arasavalli Temple In Srikakulam:

Temples in Andhra Pradesh 9

Arasavalli temple located in Srikakulam town is an ancient sun temple dedicated to the Sun God, Surya. The presiding deity in the temple is Suryanarayana Swamy. The temple is said to be built by a Kalinga ruler in 7th century. It’s a panchayatana temple with Aditya in the center and Ganesha, Parvati, Shiva and Vishnu in four corners of a quadrangle. There is also an image of Indra. The most important festival celebrated here is Ratha Saptami.

See More: Temples In Assam